Legato bow strokes

Discussion in 'Orchestral Technique [DB]' started by Rob W, Jul 13, 2005.

1. For years I have been working on trying to figure out the secrets to a smooth legato and I've both learned and expanded on what my teachers have shown on the subject. I'm still looking for new ideas and approaches though. Maybe one of the great things about the internet is that we may be able to share things in a wider geographical sense, because some times you can definitely get into 'regional' styles of playing.

Here's my basic take on it, but I really would like to hear what other folks have learned.

In my early bass playing days (before going to music school), I was briefly and engineering student so I studied a lot of physics, which I think can certainly be applied to certain mechanics of the bass. In physics, I learned that in order to change direction 180 degrees, you need to come to a stop first. If you are traveling +10 mph you need to decelerate and pass through zero before you can get to -10 mph. I think somewhere in string pedagogy this basic fact of physics has been missed.

The bow, as far as I can see, has only two possible directions that make any usable sound: right (down bow) and left (up bow). Up and down along the string does not vibrate the string in any appreciable manner - it tends to simply add noise. I suppose one might argue a third dimension (rotationally - in the direction if one were to make a string crossing), but I'm not sure that is effectively any more than another angle on the first dimension (right and left) - although I am open to checking this out if anybody can prove the physics to me.