Lesson Depression

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Bruce Sproston, Mar 8, 2006.

1. As a beginner, I've been taking weekly 1/2 hour lessons for over 4 months and feel that my instructor's heart just isn't into teaching. He's been playing for 30+ years but just started teaching last fall. Each week he shows up with a new piece of music that he copied out of someone's music book (he never remembers where he got it) and I spend 15-20 minutes trying to play it. One week it was violin music! If I ask, he will get me a photo copy so I can practice it for the next lesson. Today, the copy machine had been removed from the store so no homework for me! I am just learning to read music and the material he brings to the lessons is way beyond my ever depleting brain cells to absorb. Should I ditch this guy or ask him to take lessons on how to be a good instructor? I feel I'm wasting my time and money and at 62 years of age, my time is rapidly running out.
  2. Jason Carota

Jason Carota Gold Supporting Member

Mar 1, 2002
    Lowell, MA
    A good instructor should should encourage gowth, but never go above-and-beyond your current level. If I were you, I would start looking for a new instructor.
  3. AxtoOx

Nov 12, 2005
    Duncan, Okla.
    +1 Teaching is an art, it takes more than just knowing how to play. If your doing your part, you should feel good about your lessons.
    If he's a good teacher and presenting material, and you don't pick up your bass between lessons, that's your fault.
  4. BassChuck

Nov 15, 2005
    You need to sit down and have a good ole heart to heart with your teacher. He needs to understand your needs, and you need to articulate your goals and what you want to get from these lessons.