Let's talk about the Ashdown Little Bastard

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Joris 55, Sep 1, 2021.

1. Joris 55

Joris 55

Jun 5, 2009
    Belgium
    Hi folks!

Let’s talk about the Ashdown Little Bastard 30.

A couple of years ago, Ashdown Engineering produced the Little Bastard: a 30-watt all-tube head with a sound to die for. The way Ashdown put it:

“Rebellious, uncompromising and cool as f***, James Dean - and the car he nicknamed the Little Bastard - are the inspiration for this iconic, all-tube mini bass amp head.”

A pretty accurate description if you ask me. Have a look!

Little Bastard.JPG

Yeah, the chrome front panel is beautiful. And that VU-meter gives it a cool-factor that other amps don’t have. The rotary controls are big and convenient and the amp has a very basic circuit.

It’s equipped with two 12AX7-tubes in the preamp and four EL84’s in the power section. My go-to tech guy popped it open to have a look under the hood. By no means I’m an expert, but the amp did make a good impression on him. I brought in a Mexican-made amp at the same time, which was nowhere nearly as well-built. It seems like Made in China has become a badge of honor.

In spite of it’s stripped-down appearance, it is packed with features: there’s a mute switch, a high and a low input, an effects loop and a bunch of rocker switches to tweak your sound. This tiny amp is has it all!

Using the 1⁄4” speaker outputs on the back, you can hook up 8- ohm or 4-ohm cabinets.

The sound

I’ve had mine for a while now, and I absolutely love it. Needless to say, it gets a lot of use.

The amp is pretty small, but boy, does it sound good! Thick, warm tones; rich, classic harmonics; mild tube-saturation and full-on grind: the Little Bastard does it all. It has - for lack of a better term - a certain ‘heft’ to it. Something you rarely find in low-wattage amplifiers with limited headroom. Must be the tubes, right?