Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

LF Double bass AND chapman stick combo, powerful

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by Daniel Baskin, Aug 9, 2005.

1. Does anyone have any experience with amps that are good for both a chapman stick AND a double bass? I'm have about a $700 budget. I would like the amp to be some kind of combo amp that can easily overpower an entire jazz band in a closed, dead-bass-acoustic room. Any ideas? If you aren't familiar with the chapman stick, it relies heavily on high mids. I think.

Thanks.

2. winston

winston Supporting Member

May 2, 2000
    Berkeley, CA
    I actually have a 10-string Stick (Purpleheart, Matched Reciprocal tuning) that hasn't seen much use since I started playing DB about two years ago.

It really depends on whether you plan to be running a stereo or mono signal. If you have the active Block or Pasv-4 pickups, I believe they both have stereo/mono switches that let you choose. People who go for a fairly unadorned tone, like Bob Culbertson's, can get away with running a mono signal into one amp.

If you go stereo, and want a combo with two separate amp channels, there aren't many options in your price range. Ampeg has announced a new 2-channel 2x8 combo-- http://www.ampeg.com/products.htm?product=111&catid=13--
    but no one here has tried it yet.

Stick Enterprises is working with the Italian SR company (which makes Schertler's esteemed PUB series amps/speakers) on a Stick combo but I don't think it's been released yet. I have heard Stickist Virna Splendore and bassist Michael Manring play through small SR combos--they both sounded great.