1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Live Show PA Questions

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by WiredLlama, Mar 27, 2015.

1. WiredLlama

WiredLlama

Feb 12, 2015
    Johnstown, PA
    I've been playing with two guitarists for a few years and we do about 20 shows a year. We have a basic easy setup: mixer, power amp, two PA speakers and a monitor. We are starting a new project this year and adding a drummer and have a few larger shows scheduled already. By default setting up the sound equipment has always fallen to me and I am fine with that because I have enough knowledge about it to be dangerous but will admit I am far from an expert.

We are getting some additional equipment and I need some advice or confirmation of my plan going forward. Right now we are piecing together equipment to use for now with plans of upgrading as the funds become available.

Here is what will be going through the system:
    1 mic'd electric guitar amp
    1 mic'd acoustic guitar amp
    1 bass (DI)
    3 vocal mics
    4 drum mics

Here is our PA equipment list:
    12 channel powered mixer(650w per channel)( I was planning to use this for monitors and PA)
    600 watt 2 channel amp( I was planning on using this to power subwoofers)
    (2) 300 watt 8 ohm PA speakers
    (2) 200 watt monitors
    (2) 300 watt 8 ohm subwoofers
    Crossover (my biggest concern is how to use the crossover with the powered mixer)
    (We also have available to use an 8 channel mackie unpowered mixing board as well)