1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for a lightweight 6 string

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by sarnac, Mar 9, 2008.

1. sarnac

sarnac

Mar 8, 2008
    I am certainly in the minority here. I have ever owned only one bass at a time (I know this seems bizarre). I am aware that is a limitation and makes me inexperienced with regard to the various tonal qualities of other bases out there. But, here in this forum I now have your various experiences to draw from.

I’m considering buying a different bass, would appreciate any valuable input. Some background info is merited. I’ve been playing bass in a band for over 4 years now. Three members, we play country, and 50’s-60’s rock n roll (mostly). I often play lead breaks on the bass (this probably also seems bizarre to you all, but it works quite well for us for many of our selections).

Currently own a Cort Curbow 5 string. I had Mexican Fender 4 string before that and I considered it heavy, unwieldy. I am considering going to a six string bass, because I think the versatility of jumping from low note sequences to high notes would be easier without making long position shifts (you can correct me if I’m off bass with this assumption).

Live in a very small town, I would like to be able to phone ahead to the guitar stores in the big cities where a large selection is available (1 to 3 hours drive). BEFore traveling, I would like some ideas on what guitars to try.

Prerequisites. I am looking to stay under $1000. Maybe more if I find my true bass love.
    Must be lightweight (I suffer back pain after every gig (practices too)), and comfortable to play while sitting as well as standing. A solid ‘B’ string is important. A neck that is thin and narrow if possible. I live in the ‘north country’; the guitar will experience huge temperature changes when traveling.