1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking for good bass instruction book

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Knavery, May 30, 2012.

1. Knavery

Knavery

Feb 24, 2004
    Westminster, CO
    Hey all,
    I just got back into bass and am looking to progress really fast. I've been playing guitar for about 25 years, but I played bass in every band I was in. To be honest, I think bass comes easier to me than guitar, and I think it's due to a few reasons.

Since I was young, I always tapped to drums with my fingers on the steering wheel in my car, etc. Finger picking feels more natural to me than playing a guitar with a pick. And I'm more of a percussive/rhythm type person. I always wanted to play drums, but never had the space. As a result, I feel more comfortable playing to a drummers beat. I also never got good at guitar solos. I can play bluesy stuff, but that's about it.

With that said, I don't know a thing about theory. I've tried to memorize scales, but the positions (notes) never clicked and I just forgot about them. I know the major pentatonic and a couple blues scales and that's it. Perhaps it's never sunk in because I've never taken lessons.

Sorry for blabbing... At any rate, I'm looking for a bass instruction book that pretty much has some good walks for each chord. Scales if you will... But something more along the lines of, "If the guitar player plays a C chord, you can play these five notes and they go together well." I need to learn how to walk around the bass and do it comfortably with each chord.

I do have the Bass Grimoire, and Bass Logic, but meh... Not sure I really get those or not.

Any information would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. bwoodman

bwoodman Supporting Member

Ed Friedland books
    Youtube will keep you busy for hours....

3. germ_77

germ_77

Jul 16, 2011