1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Looking For New Bass (need advice)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Kickstand13, May 5, 2010.

1. Kickstand13

Kickstand13

May 5, 2010
    Hey all I have been playing for 7 years mostly for churches and small gigs etc. I have had a Fender Jazz 4-string but sold it for a Yamaha TRB1005 when I went 5-string. I miss the sound of the fender and the big power without much tone that I get from the TRB is getting old. I am Looking for a bass that has a sound more to my liking. It has to be a 5-string though.

As I said I mostly play in church and as such I have to play basic mainstream rock style (Ex. The Fray, Jeremy Camp, Matt Redman, CHris Tomlin) and fast fingerstyle (Hillsong, Desperation Band). I am looking for a Bass that has a big clean sound and some punch that still has some definition when playing fast.

Price range is $500-800 unless its a fender in which case I can get a deal on something up to $1200 or so.

The bass I am currently looking at is a Ibanez SR505 with the Hi/Lo switch on the mid channel. Any Suggestion/Opinions?

2. JohnnyB53

JohnnyB53

Nov 1, 2009
    The obvious answer is a Fender American Standard V. I played a like new '98 that was just great. Very playable, nice low B, great sounds throughout, mechanically sound, balanced well, etc. If you like Jazzes and Fivers, you'll love a Jazz V.

3. TUEP

TUEP

Apr 8, 2007
    Don't forget Spector makes a couple models in that price range too.

4. VinKreepo

VinKreepo

Nov 13, 2009
    Ibanez SR505 is a good choice... if you like the sound. Also, the 505 is the only SR I would recommend to YOU since it's the only SR with a mahogany body and in your price range. But like Johnny said, you seem like the Fender dude... go for a Jazz V

5. TUEP

TUEP

Apr 8, 2007