1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Lower Back Pains

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by cnl83, Apr 10, 2009.

1. cnl83

cnl83

Jan 30, 2007
    Ok, I been going to the chiropractor for Lower Back Pains. I seem to think its from playing bass. I play about an hour every day, and sometimes 3 hours. I sit and stand. When I sit I practice good posture, I do back stretches and all kinds of BS. Does anyone have this problem? Would a bigger better strap help? I have the cheapo depot straps.

p.s. I have been playing bass for about 3 years

:atoz:

2. DudeistMonk

DudeistMonk

Apr 13, 2008
    Newark, NJ
    Big padded WIDE strap for standing helps...but I get back pain from hunching over the fretboard while seated and I'm only 24.

3. cnl83

cnl83

Jan 30, 2007
    Im 25,

4. fearceol

fearceol

Nov 14, 2006
    Ireland
    A good wide strap would help to distribute the weight better. The height at which you wear your bass could be a contributing factor also.

5. cnl83

cnl83

Jan 30, 2007
    http://www.youtube.com/user/cnlnet
    You can see in the video on the main page, how high I hold my bass. The video shows me with poor posture, but I stand straight up now as much as possible.

6. When I was 25 I ruptured three discs in my lower back, causing a lifetime of chronic pain and limited activity. Chiropracters are nice, but you don't know if you have real problems without seeing an MD, getting MRIs, or CAT scans and maybe doing a couple of neurological tests. I'd start with my regular Dr., but then think about seeing an Orthopedist to see if there are causes for this besides playing the bass. At the very least, an orthopedist will give you some exercises to increase your core strength which will help prevent lower back fatigue while you play.