1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Making a neck

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by Neek, Mar 29, 2013.

1. Neek

Neek

Nov 26, 2008
    South Florida
    Greetings LC,

I have hit a road block on my current project and I come to the masters and inspirators at the Luthiers Corner for assistance. This is my first attempt at making my own neck, as opposed to buying a pre-made neck from allparts/warmoth/mightymite. I spent a few days reading through the full build tutorials in the LC, but no one mentions how they built their neck, it just magically appears from one post to the next. So I have a few questions regarding the process.

Does the maple board need to be perfectly flat and straight? I bought three separate 3.5' lengths of hard maple 1x4's from the local lumber yard, and although they seem flat when held in my hands, laying them on the floor reveals a bow in the wood. It wont lay flat on the floor. In order to fix this, I soaked one of the boards in water, then placed it on a flat surface with a few heavy objects on top, hoping that after a few days it will be relatively flat. Is this an issue all builders deal with, or do I have to go further out of my way to purchase perfectly flat boards from the start?