1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Maybe I'm Crazy ------ thinking about guts

Discussion in 'Strings [DB]' started by rickwolff, May 3, 2021 at 1:04 PM.

1. rickwolff

rickwolff SOLD For Sale: Headway EDB-2 HE $260 Supporting Member

I started out playing bass in my early teens on an old Kay which almost certainly had guts on it (I wish I could remember).

By the time I started playing professionally a couple years later the first strings I remember were Spirocores - which I stuck with until I quit playing (cold-turkey) in my early 30's.

Fast forward 25 years when I first touched a bass again, and once again went with Spiros. Over the intervening years I have tried a number of different strings - most of which worked quite well - Evahs, Zyex (D & G) Obligatos, and now Perpetuals.

I must be feeling nostalgic because I've been thinking for some time about getting an old Kay again. When one of my nearby bass shops came up with a near-perfect condition top-of-the-line Kay built in my birth year (1951) I started feeling some serious gas.

I'm not really tempted to try guts on my Shen 7/8 Gemunder because I'm happy with the Perpetuals and I don't wish to widen the string slots on the nut and bridge.

I could try guts on my second bass - an Eastman vb305 - and perhaps I will.

I was also wondering what guts would be like on my Palatino EUB. Would that be like throwing pearls before swine?

Then there's the 51 Kay. I think I'm going to go look at it tomorrow.

My marriage may be in jeopardy - but I did just sell not one but TWO boats, a 1968 Starcraft runabout and a Compac 16 sailboat. Between the two of them I would have just about enough for the Kay and a set of guts. AND, if I sell the Eastman I'll be money ahead.

Thanks for listening, Doc. I do feel better now. Same time next week?

2. eh_train

eh_train Supporting Member Commercial User

Jan 12, 2004