Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Mbox PC User out there? Thoughts.....

Discussion in 'Recording Gear and Equipment [BG]' started by SupaFli, Apr 11, 2004.

1. SupaFli

SupaFli Guest

Feb 18, 2002
    Interested in talking with folks experiences using the Mbox PC version.

I need to have a travel worthy USB set-up. I've used Pro Tools LE (on the MAC) with good results, so I figure it would be nice to stick with that.

So, please tell me about any troubles, issues, value, etc.

thanks in advance

2. Hey
    I'm a high school student starting up a mini-studio with an Mbox and some other stuff.

One dilemma I've found- I want to record several tracks simultaniously with a mixer and send them to Pro Tools via my Mbox, but have recently found that there is not much I can do to get around the fact that there are only 2 ins on the Mbox. It made sense to me that I could hook up a mixer, record 6 tracks at a time, send them through 1 in on the Mbox and have ProTools recognize it as 6 tracks and mix it though there.
    Any suggestion?
    Would it be possible to mix the 6 tracks simultaneously on the mixer and then send them to ProTools?(maybe not because I would have to send the tracks to my hard drive via ProTools before mixing)

What to do...?!
    Glenn

3. unharmed

unharmed Iron Fishes

May 19, 2003
    London, England
    I use an MBox PC setup at home to record simple stuff (guitar, one or two vocals, etc) and I really like it. I have had zero problems with it.
    I am still learing how to use ProTools effectively but if you are already familiar with it then you should be fine.
    The two inputs is no real limitation for the type of stuff I am doing and if you are putting together a mobile solution then I think it would be an excellent option.
    What type of specs are you envisaging for the system you will be running it on?

4. unharmed

unharmed Iron Fishes