Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

messed up string spacing

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Banquo, Feb 21, 2006.

1. Banquo

Banquo

Jan 30, 2006
    hello all i am new to the form, though i have been lurking for a while.

anyway, here is my problem. i recently bought a new bass that has the induvidual bridge for each string. the strings are evenly spaced except for the G, which is shifted farther out. is there any way to fix this? or do i need to instal a one peice bridge? its not a big problem just annoying sometimes.

thanks,
    daniel

2. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    What make of bass is it?

3. Banquo

Banquo

Jan 30, 2006
    schecter elite 4. the web site says its s-tek bridges.

4. 62bass

62bass

Apr 3, 2005
    I looked up the bass and while it's not exactly clear to see, it looks like each string has an individual bridge, similar to some Ibanez models. If that's the case, one of the bridges may have been installed slightly out of place and you may be able to move it to its correct position and solve the problem.

5. Matthew Bryson

Matthew Bryson Guest

Jul 30, 2001
    Do you have any pictures of the problem? Does the saddle appear to be properly placed, but the string is not properly spaced?