Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

"Milestones" : Easy as it looks ?

Discussion in 'Music [DB]' started by godoze, Jul 1, 2004.

1. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    I must admit that I tho I studied jazz voraciously in my formative years I have spent the graeter part of the last 15 years as a composer and soloist. I am now starting to approach tunes that I played waaaay back and I am a bit rusty at deciding what to do where.

So. on "milestones" being that we are playing two minor chords do I use G Dorian and A phrygian ? That is what strikes me at first but as I say i'm not really used to playing other folks' music anymore...

l'il 'elp ?

2. Chris Fitzgerald

Chris Fitzgerald Student of Life Staff Member Administrator

Oct 19, 2000
    Louisville, KY
    I don't know what the charts say, but the records have a B natural in the melody on the bridge, and no 6th, so I'd say Phrygian is not too likely. Maybe Aeolian? Maybe whatever 6th & 7th you're hearing at that moment?

As for whether it's an easy tune, I am reminded of Stravinsky's comment about how the most frightening object on earth is a blank sheet of manuscript paper. The longer I play, the more I agree. :)

3. godoze

godoze

Oct 21, 2002
    i hear you on that Stravinsky thing Chris..if only he'd stuck to 12 tone composition maybe he wouldn't have been so frightened..lol

yeah, upon listening i'm thinking not phrygian. the other thing is that the first phrase of Cannonball's solo sounds major to me from the Miles recording so I guess I'll have to start transcribin' .