1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Minimum Wattage to Play a Gig?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Vlad2075, Sep 8, 2017.

1. Vlad2075

Vlad2075

Mar 20, 2017
    New Jersey
    Hello all!

I haven't posted here in a while but to give you some background. I'm a recycled newbie bass player who recently picked it back up a few months back. After much practice most of it has come back to me and i'm at a place where I want to be!

I'm ready to play some gigs! Mostly small venues (clubs, retaurants, bars...nothing fancy).
    My Fender 15 watt won't cut it, so I'm in the market for a new amp I can use to play out.

What would you say would be the minimum wattage required to play in a small venue?

100w?

I was looking at a Bugera BXD12 combo amp to play out. It's $299 and claims to be 1000 watts (it certainly can't be 1000 watts). I'm on a budget and even $299 is a bit pricey for me so if anyone can recommend something less expensive then even better!

What does everyone think?

2. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Inactive

Depends on the cabinet you chose to use if you go with separates. In my case I gig with 1000W to drive my cabinets to “sing.” With a combo get the most powerful you can afford. The only combo I have played through in the past few years was a Fender Rumble 350 2x10. I was pleasantly surprised by how well it handled my six string.

Typically we buy an amp that we can afford. As we progress and save the money this is traded in against the next better amplifier. This repeats until we have just what we want. :)

Last edited: Sep 8, 2017
  3. Super dependent on the drummer and on the guitarists ability to use their volume control.

I've played where 25W was enough, and I've played where 800W wasn't.

jamro217, old spice, gsquare and 15 others like this.
  4. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013