1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

MM Sterling v. G&L L2000 - how do they compare?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ahiddentableau, Apr 19, 2009.

1. Hi guys,

I've finally got enough scratch together to buy my first nice bass. Since I'm only going to be using for recording (in the foreseeable future, at least), I want flexibility...to be able to dial in various, useable tones, different voices, and so on.

After trying out all the basses I can, I think I've got it narrowed down to the Sterling and L2k. So I'm wondering how you guys think they compare, and which one you'd choose. Which is more flexible? What are the pros/cons of each? What kind of things should I expect or be looking for that, as a relative newbie, I might not think of or catch?

Thanks a lot!

2. I have no hands-on experience with either of the basses but I can point you to these videos:

Both show the tonal varieties of both basses, except the G&L is a Tribute model.

3. pickles

pickles Gold Supporting Member

Mar 23, 2000
    Ventura, CA
    They are both really great basses. The L2k has more tonal character variation, but the sterling has more powerful and flexible EQ. The L2k is going to be a gruntier, slightly richer sound. The Sterling is going to sound a little more polite and "modern" or shiny.

Can't go wrong either way.

4. jaywa

jaywa

May 5, 2008
    Iowa City, IA
    The G&L will let you go between passive and active with the flick of a toggle. The MusicMan is active all the time. If that makes any difference to you.

Also, for some people the combination of toggle switches and knobs on the G&L is too complicated and/or seems almost gimmicky as compared to the straightforward knobs-only configuration of the MusicMan. But that is totally a personal preference thing.