1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Modern bass with dead flats

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by JimmyM, Aug 11, 2012.

1. JimmyM

JimmyM

Apr 11, 2005
    Apopka, FL
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    ...Yeah, I'm going to try it. Wanna make something of it, punk?

:D

Went through my herd of basses this week and spent a little quality time with all of them. I love them all except for my Jay Turser violin bass, and even it's not all that bad, just not up to the rest of them sonically. Mostly I've been playing Fenders for the last 10 years and to me they'll always be the ultimate in versatility and tone. But the bass that makes it easiest for me to play is this 4-string on the right here:

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

1996 Guitar Factory bass, mahogany/maple/pau ferro, EMG PJ's, neck-through-body, and I don't know if you can make it out in these pics but it has a Kahler whammy bar on it ;) All my basses play well but this one especially plays well...darn near perfect if you ask me. BTW, the one next to it is a GF bass also, but I stripped the original finish off and redid it with tung oil. I was playing it today and wishing it sounded more suited for the 50's-60's-70's music I'm mostly doing, and then it occurred to me...just put dead flats on it!

Why didn't I think of that before? I guess it never occurred to me till just then. I mean, it's ridiculous to put flats on a more modern style bass, isn't it? But they've been working quite well for me on my P Lyte with EMG PJ's, so why not this one? I'm going to order a set of Chromes for it, rub them down good every day for a month with greasy crap, and it should rule pretty hard by my estimations.