Most Inexpensive Upright

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Petary791, Jun 21, 2005.

1. Petary791

Feb 20, 2005
    Michigan, USA
    What is probably the most inexpensive, playable upright? The only one I see is the Dean Pace, but it appears that it's AWFUL. I'm a total noob to the whole upright thing, but I would love to hop on the bandwagon.
  2. Joe Nerve

Joe Nerve Supporting Member

Oct 7, 2000
    New York City
    Endorsing artist: Musicman basses, Hipshot products
    Just got my Pace today. I see you saw my post... or at least the other pace review post. If yo didnt' read mine I linked to it in the thread you just posted in. I pretty much gave all my thoughts here.

I've seen DBs new for as cheap as 3 or $400 on ebay - but from what I hear you get what you pay for. I have a DB in my bedroom that's borrowed and I can't get in touch with the guy I borrowed it from. It needs a setup and strings badly (It's incredibly hard to play) and for what it would cost me for the setup and strings, I bought the Pace. I'm kinda parylyzed on the other one because the guy could call me out of the blue asking for it back. If I invest in it I could get screwed.

As for EUB there have been some posts here about other EUBs going for a little less than $1000. Azolas I think.

That's about all I can say for now.

Oh no... one more thing - the guys on the DB side are gonna say you need to invest at least 1,200 if you want something that you're going to enjoy and want to play. I've a feeling they're right. I'm diggin the pace right now though - and the price was very right. :)
  3. Konabob

Konabob Konaweb LLC

Jan 9, 2004
    Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
    I have sold just over 100 of these upright instruments.

I admit, they are very different from what you might be looking for, as they:
    1) Are Fretless
    2) Have Nylon Strings
    3) No active electronics
    4) Some of them are 3 string