1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Music Performance Major for Professional Working Musicians... Does it really matter??

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by the aXeman, Aug 16, 2012.

1. Yes

9 vote(s)
    25.0%
  2. No

14 vote(s)
    38.9%
  3. Possibly

13 vote(s)
    36.1%
  1. Hey Guys,

I've got a pretty tricky question and am seeking anybody's opinion from experience who might be able to help me...

Right now I'm 17 and going into my Senior year of High School, I've been playing Bass for over 6 1/2 years now (wow time flies... o_O). Since I was 13 I've pretty much known that all I've wanted to do with my life is play Bass for a living... I know I'm probably preaching to the masses on this one. I've had some great opportunities that have really given me an idea of the reality of the Business we're talking here.... I worked at my local amphitheater as a Sound Tech and Stagehand/Roadie for a couple years, my Dad's a drummer and I've tagged alone when his last band opened for Nationals before (we're in the same band now.... yes, it's a blast!! :) )

So, anyways, I've seen, met, and had conversations with people from all levels you could imagine... I've been gigging in the bar circuit since about 14 and joined my latest band that gigs almost every weekend just before I turned 17... They're a Professional-Caliber band and I REALLY had to push myself to the max to get the gig.... but I did and am having a blast...