Dismiss Notice

Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

My Back is Seperated from my ribs

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by travatron4000, Apr 19, 2004.

1. travatron4000

travatron4000

Dec 27, 2000
    Chicago, IL
    my back got snagged on a bass extraction from a chevy tahoe and "CRACK" the back got seperated. I'm a college student, it's a week before finals, the nearest lutiher is 2 hours a way, i have no money, no car, a concert tomorrow, and a playing proficiency friday. Here's what the luthier said to me.

Travis, wow......clamping is the tough part, the taper in the shoulders of a bass make it hard for us even to clamp and we have the right clamps.
    I suggest you drive down Wed afternoon/evening, we will work on it when you get here, sleep at my house on the couch, and drive to Marquette on Thursday. For tuesday night you can tape it up, using masking tape you have moderated a bit by stilcking it on a sweater then on to the bass. Glueing your instrument could be done with any good polyvinyl acetate glue, eg: Titebond, but not too much of it. But again, clamping is the tough part.

The problem with clamping is not marking the instrument, AND being able to hold the clamps on the tapered body shape. OK, look, if this was an older, European instrument it would be built with hide glue and I'd
    NEVER
    NEVEER NEVER glue it with PVA......but it is a recent chinese, probably built with PVA at the factory.......

So, go find an inner tube, cut it spiral fashion into one LOOOOOONNNGGG rubber band strip about an inch wide......take you 1/2 hour with a cheap scissors from the dollar store. The inner tube is free from a tire shop.
    take your strings off......wrap the band around and arond and around after applying glue into the seam and wiping off the extra......