My Clarus is on Fire!!!

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by BrandonTurner, Mar 17, 2006.

1. NO Literally , my Clarus was smoking and stopped working!

The other night I was at a rehearsal and I plugged my clarus into my cab as usual and then the wall. It made a wierd sound so i plugged it in another socket and then turned it on. No wierd sound so before I started playing I went into the hall to get a soda. I came back and found the clarus smoking and really hot. I unplugged it and am afriad to use it.
    I called rick at AI and sent it down for repair. I will hear about it next week.
    Anybody ever have a similar experience?

2. Alex Scott

Alex Scott

May 8, 2002
    Austin, TX
    I had a bag end 1 X 15 catch on fire at a gig once. The shop I bought it from replaced it.
  3. JonB

May 27, 2003
    My old Ampeg B1 once got hot enough to burn me, and trip the thermal switch. Turns out the power was wonky on that particular stage.
    I remember the drummer saying, 'your playing wasn't really that hot."
  4. FredH

FredH Supporting Member

I burned up two, yes two Harke 112 cabs in the space of 3 days. When I returned the second one I demanded a GK 410 in return cause I didn’t want to wait for another factory replacement. Funny part was when I returned the second one I help the sales guy carry the cab into the storage room, the storage room was full of burned up Harke cabs and combos. I guess they finally got the bugs out of those aluminum cones. I was in a metal band at the time and both times the speakers caught fire the audience thought it was part of the show :cool:
  5. TroyK

TroyK Moderator Staff Member

Mar 14, 2003
    Seattle, WA
    I set my Strat on fire on stage at Woodstock one year. It was bitchin'
  6. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member Commercial User

Mar 20, 2004
    Madison WI
    HPF Technology LLC
    That's what all musicians do when they go on break. Don't worry about it ;)
  7. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur

Mar 22, 2000