Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

my crazy 4x10 cab experiment (car subs)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by gaffster, Feb 18, 2006.

1. gaffster

gaffster

Jan 20, 2006
    florida
    [​IMG]

So, hmm myself being an electrical engineer (presently designing some of the new avionics for Boeing's new "787 dreamliner") I hate to do anything normal when it comes to electronics. So I wanted to amplify the line out of my Roland db500 practice amp for MAX LOUDNESS. I am not a speaker expert, nor are my ears. I picked up unloaded cab for 50 bucks. A while back I went on ebay and found some cheap car woofers the kids love so much:

2 of these for Pyle pw-1058us 30$
    # 10" Blue Color Woofer Cone
    # Ultra High Performance/High Power
    # 50 oz. Bumped & Vented Magnet Structure
    # 2" Kapton Bobbin Voice Coil
    # 300 Watts RMS/600 Watts Peak Power
    # SPL 1W/1M: 90dB
    # Diameter: 10 1/8"
    # Frequency Response: 25Hz-2.8kHz
    # Mounting Depth: 3.75"
    # Impedance: 4 Ohms

And 2 of these Polk Audio GNX104 for 25$

# Frequency Response: 18hz-400hz
    # Peak Power Handling: 400 watts
    # Continuous Power Handling: 175 watts
    # Nominal Impedance: 4 ohms
    # Sensitivity (SPL at 1 watt/1 meter): 93db

They had good SPL ratings and tons-opower and I figured they are cheap because they are practically commodities. epecially at closeout deals.

I wired the two 8 OHM speakers in parallel for a 600 WRMS bass channel and the two 4's in series for 350 WRMS sub channel (seperate jack) Total watts = 950RMS, 2KW peak.

This cab is the loudest/deepest 4x10 I have ever heard.
    I found that if I just use the two 2.8KHz bass speakers, the subs act as passive radiators and give a beautifull warm sound to the cab. I am pleased with the outcome and let me just say my i am very glad my house sits on 1.5 acres.