1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

My first ever post! Man, do I need help!!

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by capnjim, Mar 13, 2008.

1. capnjim

capnjim

Mar 13, 2008
    Hello everybody....I'm new to this forum as I am new to the bass.
    I played geetar for 25 yrs, and i just switched to bass...I really like it!! I was born to groove. So, I sold a few vintage amps on ebay and now have 1000$ to spend on an amp.
    I play with a really loud drummer and a crazy guitar player who not only uses a Mesa MKIV, but he brings an extension cab!!
    This is in a small garage. So I want power, but flexability as well.
    I play all styles, I like to play reggae, but also do some slapping.
    Phew, that was long..so to the point..I have it narrowed down to 3 amps:
    Eden Nemesis 2x10-650$
    Yorkville bassmaster XS 400 2x10 combo. 600$
    Ashdown ABM-900, 1999 model.-550$(Plus I will need a cab)

I am pretty much sold on the Yorkville amp, but I just got an e-mail from the guy who has the '99 Ashdown ABM 900. Are older Ashdowns desirable? The Yorkville is actually 250 watts as-is..it needs an extension cab to be 400 watts..the Ashdown is basically more power than I need, but headroom is always nice.
    I'm hoping to get some good advice here..if not, still looking forward to hanging around with some fellow bass players.
    Thanks

2. i feel like the ashdown would have power that the yorkville cant even compare to

3. +1 in MY opinion A 2 x 10 aint gonna cut it! get at least a 4 x 10 or a 2 x 10 & a 1 x 15" or 6x10 whatever. I dunno re that Ashdown. I DID like the ashdown EVO II I played once. But have heard some reliability probs with some Ahdowns. Do a search on that Ashdown in the amps forum search feature.