NBD - Ibanez ANB306 Adam Nitti Signature 6-String

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jasonmatthews, May 9, 2018.

1. jasonmatthews

jasonmatthews

Jul 10, 2016
    Atlanta, GA
    TL;DR - Adam is an awesome guy, got a good deal, bass sounds incredible, several manufacturing issues.

5 second history... I studied with Adam when I was a wee-young bassist, right before college and before he moved to Nashville. I actually can't believe it's been so long. But anyway, huge influence on my playing, nicest guy in the world, his improv chops are insane and I'm lucky to have ever even met him. If you are lucky enough to get an opportunity to see him play or meet him or get a lesson... take it. Five seconds with Adam and you'll be a better player.

I always wanted one of his Warrior 6-string basses, but I was never able to find one used and didn't want to pony up the $5400 for a new one. When he switched to Ibanez his ANB1006 sounded incredible (and it's very, very close to the specs of his Warrior), but $7000 was more than I wanted to spend. When the ANB306 came out I knew I would eventually get one... I think the paint is awesome, and the wood combo and electronics are right up my alley.

Long story long, a factory second (brand new) popped up on eBay for a couple hundred bucks below retail; the imperfection was a speck of finish that was literally too small to photograph... I couldn't even find it without asking the dealer exactly where it was. I didn't "need" a bass at that moment so I lowballed on the price... like extreme "there's absolutely no way he'll take this" lowball. But then apparently I'd bought a new bass.