1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

Ned Steinberger Upright

Discussion in 'Electric Upright Basses (EUB's) [DB]' started by Bassoon, Mar 30, 2006.

1. Bassoon

Bassoon

Aug 1, 2003
    Germany
    Hi!

I tested the Ned Steinberger Bass at my local dealer.
    For me it sounded fantastic.
    Has anyone made good/bad experiences with this instrument, too? Unfortunately it's not cheap...

thx

bassoon

2. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

I've been using one for the last 3 years or so and have really enjoyed using it - easy to transport- plug in and play - doesn't take up much room - unbreakable!! :)

If you like the sound - you can't go wrong!!

3. I tried one (a CR4) recently at The Bass Centre in London, and couldn't believe how easy it was to play compared to a more traditional EUB/AUB.
    I'd love to have one definitely but as you said, they're not cheap........

4. Bassoon

Bassoon

Aug 1, 2003
    Germany
    The handling is fantastic!

5. jrduer

jrduer

Jun 27, 2005
    Georgetown, TX
    I'm waiting on an Ergo 4-string EUB right now. When it gets here, I'll try to remember to post my impressions of how it plays. It's certainly cheaper than the Steinberger -- $730USD delivered, with a stand. Here's a link: http://ergoinstruments.com/ .

~John

6. Bruce Lindfield

Bruce Lindfield Unprofessional TalkBass Contributor Gold Supporting Member In Memoriam

Hmmm...looks a bit cheap and I clicked on one of the sound samples on the front page (Arco) and it was horrible - squeaky and poorly-intonated!! :meh:

7. JAUQO III-X

JAUQO III-X Banned

Jan 4, 2002
    CHICAGO,IL.
    Endorsing artist:see profile.