Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Need some help Pups & rigs

Discussion in 'Amps, Mics & Pickups [DB]' started by buffalobillh, Jul 20, 2005.

1. buffalobillh

buffalobillh

Jul 20, 2005
    Texas
    Endorsing Artist: Samuel Shen Basses, NS Design, D'Addario Strings
    I've been playing upright for 15 years. I'm a tuba player that does most of his work on UB and EB. My current setup is a '63 Kay, Shaller magnetic Pup, Eurosonics, Fishman Pro preamp, Peavey Firebass 700w head, and Dietz 15" cab. The Peavey/Dietz setup is fantastic for EB, but I'm having trouble getting the UB sound I want. The never-ending search for sound, huh? I want the Bob Moore sound - very elusive.

I would love to play a gut setup w/ appropriate Pup, but most work requires volume (big band, classic country, western swing - NO arco), hence the Shaller/Eurosonic setup. I had a Fishman 100(?), and it fed back all night. I've also thought about a different amp/cab setup. I've seen some guys in Austin use an Ampeg 4/10 cab, unsure of amp. I've never played a Contra amp. Even thought of trying a K&K Bass Max before buying an amp/cab, but I don't know about the volume issue. Not going to buy a Barbera just to try it. You guys have suggestions as to which way to go?
    Thanks.

Bill

2. anonymous0726

anonymous0726 Guest

Nov 4, 2001
    I'm not familiar with Bob Moore's sound, but a quick Google shows that his recordings are from the 50's mainly? If this is the case, you're not likely to get what you're looking for from a magnetic pickup. Mag pickups just turn your bass into a giant Fender Precision.

For high-volume situations, your next choice for a more natural sound will be piezo pickups (or the Schertler pickups, which are a contact mic, I believe). There are a bunch of these and a lot already written in the 'Newbies' links. Check those out for specifics.