1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Nervous about first "Gig"

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by Floydian, Mar 25, 2009.

1. Floydian

Floydian

Nov 17, 2008
    Richmond, VA
    Sorry if this isn't exactly the right spot to post this kind of topic but I'm a relatively new TB'er.

Anyways, I have been playing bass for only 6 months now though I am pretty committed to it. I recently met a rather talented guitarist at a party and we got together and jammed today for a couple of hours. He was light years ahead of me, though he was patient and showed me a couple songs which i struggled with at first but chugged through after a couple tries. Anyways, at the end of the jam he gets a call from a girl looking for someone to play at her BBQ party on Friday (3 days from now) and he promptly agrees. I didn't pay any mind cause i thought he was referring to another band he plays in or something. Low and behold, it will be just me and him, NO DRUMMER, playing a set of three songs in front of 30 probably drunk people. After some convincing he got me to agree to do it, but I am nervous as hell because although I can play these songs with it being just us I know all of my mistakes will be heard loud and clear since it will only be us two.

So anywho, I was wondering if anyone had any advice for me as I venture into the world of gigging? Any advice of things to keep in mind while playing these songs would also be much appreciated.

We will be playing:
    Last Dance with Mary Jane
    Bad Moon Rising
    Sunshine Of Your Love

Thank you to any advice given, and I will update after the "show."

2. Forget about the audience - focus on the music.

3. DougD

DougD Bassman7654

Sep 19, 2002
    North Las Vegas NV