Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New Bass, Slapping...

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by bassmcgee, Sep 8, 2004.

1. bassmcgee

bassmcgee

Sep 8, 2004
    Hey. Just got a Ibanez Soundgear srx300. I love it.
    Im just getting into slapping, because my previous bass had a huge soapbar pickup at against the fretboard, and it was impossible. Anyways. Need some tips/techniques for slapping, though im getting it. More importantly, need some good songs that include slapping. Prefferable NOT Red hot Chili Peppers. Thanks

BTW: Heres the bass.. Not exact pic, but its the same color and all.

[​IMG]

2. Nice bass! Try searching the technique forum, slapping has been covered many times. It mostly always ends up with us saying, "learn the technique and practice till your thumb falls off". That's the only way to do it really.

3. Anti_Wish

Anti_Wish

May 14, 2004
    Boston, Ma
    i like ibanez basses and that looks good. for some good slap, check out a lot of primus, although if you haven't master chili peppers this will be harder. a lot of Funk music, a la Bootsy Collins, Marcus Miller, Victor Wooten, Brian bromberg, Adam Nitti, and stanley clarke. i have left a lot of people, but this should be enough for now. trust me, if you practice slap a lot, like everyday for multiple hours, you will be playing chili peppers music by the end of the month. IMO, Fleas stuff is really simple, and it is usually in one position, it's just a lot of clicking really fast. but it sounds cool.

4. Aaron Saunders

Aaron Saunders

Apr 27, 2002
    Ontario
    You by no means have to "master" chili peppers to do primus slapping. Les stuff LOOKS really complex, and sounds like it, but once you start to dissect it, it becomes a lot easier.