New bassist has some questions

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by pickhead, Jul 30, 2004.

1. pickhead

Jul 23, 2004
    I was a guitar player until a month ago, then I decided to buy a bass. Being a newbie, I have a few questions , please :help: me!

1. Is Washburn XB100 a good bass for beginners?

2. How much time can I go with my guitar amp Washburn BD12? (Because I couldn't afford a bass amp, they are pretty expensive :crying: )

3. As you can guess, I have some difficulties playing my fingers and more confident with picks. Can you suggest me some exercises and songs which strengthen my fingers and improve accuracy? (There aren't any bass books in Turkey, so I really need this)

2. You could put a bass through a guitar amp, but you'd better not put it above whisper quiet. You could damage your speaker badly by putting too much low end through it.
  3. Boplicity

Boplicity Supporting Member

If you are referring to strengthening your fingers to use fingerstyle plucking rather than using a pick, I'd say it isn't so much that you need strength as agility and speed. You don't have to pluck hard and probably shouldn't.

You can improve your agility with this exercise I learned from a Michael Manring video.

1. With an open E, just practice alternating your index and middle fingers on the E string until you can do it smoothly, condfidently and consistently. I advise starting by alternating just two fingers. Some more experienced bassists use three, but two make a good start and you could play all your life with only two.

2. Then alternate between plucking first the E-string, then the A-string and back again. This will seem harder, because the middle finger has to reach further. It is also harder to remember to return to the index finger when returning to the E-string, but this how you learn strict alternation.