1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New here, newbie, new bass!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by dan85, Apr 30, 2009.

1. dan85

dan85

Apr 27, 2009
    Hi all!

I finally switched to the dark side... I have been playing guitar for 3 years now, but since the musical scene is pretty limited here and I do not want any treble finding a band, I decided to start playing bass :D

So, today I received my first one: a G&L Tribute L-2000, sunburst, with rosewood fretboard. (Artificial lighting + cheapo camera = bad pic ...)
    [​IMG]
    600€ ... quite a lot of money for a student, but I wanted something I could keep.

I really like all the sounds you can get from it. Furthermore, the onboard preamp is really silent.

It came already in tune and pretty well set up from the distributor. I just had to loosen the truss rod in order to have a bit more relief (I tend to play really hard ...). There is still some fret buzz, but I guess it'll disappear when the strings will become used.

The only thing which makes me wonder is that the low strings (mostly the E) sustain less than the other 2 ... the E fades away after roughly 10 secs, whereas the G can go on for days. I wonder if this is normal, not that I need that much sustain though.

Now I'll have to find a good amp, but since I'll be playing at home for a while (the time to develop some skills), I think I'll build a preamplifier first. I'll quickly throw a Flipster together ( http://runoffgroove.com/flipster.html ), maybe the one from Albert Kreuzer too ( http://www.albertkreuzer.com/preamp.htm ), but I'm open to any other suggestions :)

Cheers,

Dan

2. DerHoggz

DerHoggz I like cats :| Banned

Feb 13, 2009
    Western Pennsylvania