Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

New here!

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [DB]' started by Charles Shores, Jul 26, 2005.

1. Charles Shores

Charles Shores Commercial User

Jul 26, 2005
    Charlotte, NC
    Owner: Guitar Barre
    Hi everybody,

I've been registered here before, but I guess my account was deleted... "cshoresbass."

Anyway, I'm back now with my real name, I noticed a lot of people using theirs so I felt better about it.

I've been playing double bass for about eight years now, but I'm nowhere near as good as other players that have been playing that long...I only recently got into seriously playing and practicing. I started in 5th grade when the music teachers come around and give you a music test, picked double bass and stuck with it. Started bass guitar in 8th grade and got really good, for any age...I guess it's an easy instrument for me. I'm pretty bored with it right now. In 8th grade I also tried out for the middle school honors orchestra. It was pretty lame when I look back on it, probably because I was so nervous being around all those private lesson taking kids. I got 2nd chair, my (now) friend Kelly got 1st but I didn't know her then.

Then I got into high school and slacked off double-bass-wise. I started getting good on electric and joined the jazz band in 10th grade, barely knew any jazz, learned a ton and got a lot of compliments from guys in the band. Mr. Jones, my teacher told me I sounded black (that made my year, basically.) Took a few theory lessons from various people, including Cliff Engel.

Summer after 10th grade I got into Governor's School West for Instrumental Music...Best freaking summer of my life. We played 20 Century Symphonic repertoire and I was so interested in it. It got me used to rehearsal every day and not being good enough to play the music. I can post a list of pieces if anyone is really interested.