1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

New P pickups, need help !

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by Dj Bebel, Dec 20, 2018.

1. Dj Bebel

Dj Bebel

Jul 8, 2017
    Hey !

Had my MIM PBass for months now but always been with fuzz on since.

But now i'd like to have a cool clean sound and i'm not really happy with the sounds i get with my bass. I guess it's because of the stock pickups.

It's the precision sound no doubt here, but i feel it sounds thin and little bit sterile.

So i'm looking for new pickups now but i'm a real newbie when it's about pickups.

I'd like to add more beef to my sound but still have a clear high end. I don't want a dark sound. 'Not afraid about little mud around the bass/mid tho.

Thanks

2. gfen

gfen

Aug 21, 2014
    lehigh valley
    stayed at a holiday inn, once...
    I replaced the factory MIM pickups in my Fender BTJ with DiMarzio Model Ps in both positions. To me, it was just a thicker, heavier, beefier sound over the MIMs which were a little.. I dunno..one of those vague words people throw around that's something like "thin" or "sizzling" or equally vague.

Other options I weighed heavily were the EMG GZRs (much love around here), the Seymour Duncan Steve Harris (what can I say, I'll buy into signature hype), and Bill Lawrence P46. The Fralin pickups get a lot of love, but as I needed two I wasn't going to spend that much.

Ultimately, though, it depends on what you want. Unfortuantly, it's hard to really gauge this as every "review" and sound sample is mostly an island alone due to variations in equipment, playing, and recording. In the end, it comes down to faith and word of mouth.

Bass Man Dan and PawleeP like this.
  3. Isotonic

Isotonic

Oct 19, 2011
    Round Rock TX
    My favorite high quality versatile P is the 62 RIP aka the Original P.

4. lz4005

lz4005

Oct 22, 2013