1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

TalkBass.com has been uniting the low end since 1998.  Join us! :)

New Rig Week (Mesa Subway and Audiokinesis content)

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by strost, Dec 14, 2017.

1. strost

strost Supporting Member

Oct 2, 2008
    Blacksburg, VA
    Last week I finally completed my dream rig. I picked up a used Mesa Subway D800+ over a month ago but had no cab for it (I've been using a GK MB210 Combo for 8 years).

After much hemming and hawing, I landed on an Audiokinesis Changeling 115 (C115). Luckily (and this helped me decide on this) Duke was mostly finished one and could get it to me pretty quickly. It's a bit heavier than I initially wanted but still a one-hand carry. Plus it's plenty loud for anything I might want to do. I'll never need a second cab.

Coming from a simple combo to a knob-heavy amp and switch-full multi-pluggable-port cab was pretty intimidating. It took me a lot of experimentation to get the sound I really wanted (though none of the sounds were bad). I realized I don't want to mess with the cab switches while playing with the band so I had to find a cab setting that made me happy, and then I could mess with the amp from song to song if needed.

But I've found it! This combination is amazing. There are two switches on the cab. One makes the mids "grindier" when up and one rolls off the highs when down. Both switches up makes a great tone that really sits well in the mix (though I prefer the midswitch down for the rare slap). When I want more bottom end, I just use the "deep" switch on the D800+. I also find the high pass filter to be very useful - especially in our small, loud tile/brick practice room. For my fretlesses, I set the D800+'s "voicing" knob to about 9 oclock. For everything else I have it at about 1 oclock. I boost both mids and set the low mid at about 11 oclock.