Psst... Ready to join TalkBass and start posting, make new friends, sell your gear, and more?  Register your free account in 30 seconds.

Newbie Amp Head Help

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Cacklingjackyl, Mar 14, 2004.

1. I am looking for the right head to push my Ampeg SVT410HE (8 Ohms) and will probably be buying either an Avatar B115 or B212 Delta LF soon (www.avatarspreakers.com). The B212 comes in 2, 4, or an 8 ohm option. What is the least amount of watts I should look for in a head, and do you think I should add the one 15 or two 12's?

Right now I use a Peavey Combo 210TX and that is it. I will probably sell it when I obtain the new head. I need more volume and punch. Note that I would consider cabs other than the Avatar's, but have heard that they are very good for the price, and I am looking to spend somewhere in the range of $300 for the cabs.

Remember, I am new to this so any insight you have will be sincerely appreciated.

2. Before you sell the 210TX try adding a single 15 with it as an extension speaker. That amp will put out 300 watts into 2 ohms. With the added 15 you might just have what you need. just a suggestion.

3. I just read about the extention capabilites of the Peavey 210TX here at talkbass. I have not tried the Ampeg 410's with it yet with my band, so I am not sure how that will work. Six 10's seems like it may be a little weak on the lower end, but 6 is a little better than 2 for now.

I do not want to sell the 410's for money for the 15. Do you think the best thing for me to do would be to invest in a 15 and try it out with the 210TX. If I like it, I could keep that configuration for some time. If not, I could dump the Peavey 210 TX and buy a head to use with the 15 and the 410's. Does that make sense?

Another question that comes to mind is the difference between 2 12's and 1 15 speaker. If I went with the Avatar's, there is not much price difference. Which would be the better option to try with the Peavey 210TX?