Newbie: Fender rumble amps for practice or an audio interface?

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by Eric Guan, Nov 3, 2019.

1. Eric Guan

Eric Guan

Nov 3, 2019
    Hi! I am a pianist new to bass. Now, I am considering a practice amp, but they seem to be a little expensive for my budget. I found an audio interface called Behringer um2 and I tried it, it sounded pretty nice in my GarageBand, except a little flat, probably because I don't have a good headphones. So, should I spend the money on an amp like Fender rumble or stick with audio interface for now? Thanks!

2. Of course it depends on your budget. You'll find that some players do prefer practicing through headphones, but probably most prefer a small (practice) amp, like the smaller Fender rumble combo amps. The reason for this is to be able to get a sound similar to what they would get at a performance (gig). It's more than just playing the notes, which , in a quiet environment, can be heard with no amplification. Also, a practice amp with a 10 or 12 inch speaker is large enough to be used for small, low volume acoustic gigs (electric bass with acoustic guitars, banjos, fiddles, etc.) in smaller venues (coffee houses, restaurants, etc.). If you can't really afford one of those, consider using the headphones for a few months while you save up for one of the larger practice amps ($200 - $400). This will also give you time to become more knowledgable about your needs. Since you are a pianist, you know how important the quality of the instrument is for tone. For electric bass, the amplifier is a critical part of the instrument. If you buy cheap, you'll end up buying twice. Let your ears decide which amp to buy. BTW, welcome to Talkbass and to bass playing!

imabuddha, lucas303, dfp and 6 others like this.
  3. Eric Guan

Eric Guan

Nov 3, 2019
    thank you so much!!! I will look into that and I’m very excited to start bass :))

musicman556 likes this.
  4. CallMeAl

CallMeAl

Dec 2, 2016
    Ithaca Ny