Newbie Here

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by blujax01, Nov 16, 2005.

1. blujax01

Nov 16, 2005
    ...And a drummer to boot!

Warmest regards to "The Other Half Of The Rhythm":

I got it in my head to learn to play bass to better lock in with my bass player as well as accepting the internal challenge to try something new and different. As a "seasoned" drummer, I get asked a lot of questions from starters about what gear to buy. I always point them toward solid vintage gear over new cheap imports. Well made 50's through 80's drums with a few nicks and stickers are better made and a bargain than the low end new Chinese stuff.
    That's in the drum world. What I hope to learn is if this also hold true for bass guitars?
    I'll be lurking about, learning the lay of the land and after you all have your fun (How many drummers does it take to screw in a light bulb, etc...), I expect we'll become quite friendly.

2. burk48237

burk48237 Supporting Member

Nov 22, 2004
    Oak Park, MI
    Don't worry, You'll give up the Drums soon enough. Everyone comes in from the "dark side" sooner or later. Once you figure out Bass Players get all the chicks and show up to practice on time, and can "read stuff" you'll come over! :D WELCOME!!!
  3. Rich600

Nov 22, 2004
    Happened to me, I used to be a guitarist many moons ago...
  4. purfektstranger

Apr 10, 2003
    It's true....I droppped the drumsticks and never looked back.
  5. johans

johans G.U.I - Groovin' under influence

Oct 28, 2004
    the Bay Area, CA
    welcome to the 'low end' .. :) this is our 'low' greetings..
  6. It's strange, i did the reverse a while ago... i'm a choral singer as well as a bassist, and I felt compelled to check out the drums in order to be better organized rythmically. I have a sibling who plays them, so VOILA free instruction... :D

But, regardless,

welcome to the forum!
  7. blujax01

Nov 16, 2005