newbie needs help

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by airderm, Jan 16, 2005.

1. airderm

Jan 16, 2005
    hey everybody,

i'm an 18 year-old who plans on getting his very first bass this coming week.I'm still unsure about some stuff and honestly hope you guys will help me out a little bit.

Firstly,should i get a bass with 4 or 5 strings?i dont really know the difference between the two.I've read elsewhere that the two basses are not the same at all and moving from 4 to 5 strings will need some getting used to.Is this at all true?How should i decide?i know this is going to sound a little dumb but should i just get a bass with 5 strings,learn how to play it just like a bass with four,and progress to 5 once i get better?

I have a friend who is in a band.He says that the bassist gets only a certain brand of this important?to get a branded bass although i'm just starting out?i plan on getting a cheap begginer's bass and get a better one once i get better?so should i do that?or just get a good one right away so i dont have to upgrade?

adam :confused:
  2. Hi there, good to know you're starting out!

For the "4 or 5" discussion, it really is a question of how you feel. When you say "work your way up to a 5" there are some people who believe that there is no such thing as working your way up to a 5. Personally, I think to get the basic fundimentals and feel for the instrument, a 4-string would be best.

As for bassists getting a certain brand, some are comfortable and happy with the stuff a brand puts out. Other than that, it's not at all important what brand it is, as long as you like the sound and it plays well for YOU. As for a beginning bass, around $200 USD would be a nice price range for a first bass. You can certainly get a great beginning bass for that price!

PM me if you have any more questions. I'll be happy to answer them