1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Newbie question about live bass sound

Discussion in 'Live Sound [BG]' started by some1, Mar 13, 2012.

1. some1

some1

Apr 27, 2011
    Hi guys, I'm pretty much a complete newbie about live sound related stuff. My current rig consists of a Markbass Little Mark III (500W) and 2x10 Markbass cab (300W at 8 ohms). In the recent venues I played, cab wasn't enough on its own so I ended up going through the PA, which is not an ideal solution from what I understand. I mean, the sound coming from the cab on its own was kinda loud enough when I turned it all the way up, but it distorted in a bad way so I went through the PA. So I'm thinking about a getting a second cab (1x15) to be able to go through my rig directly. The guitar players in my band are mic'ing their amps so I can hear them through the monitors, but if I don't mic myself, there's no way for me to hear the bass through the monitors, right? Would it work in that case to just have the bass sound coming from my cabs? Or would I need to mic my rig too? I feel like I'm asking very basic and stupid questions, but I've gotta start learning from somewhere :)

2. Usually pairing different speaker types isn't the best idea, but as long as you get the impedance right youll be all right. As for a mic, make sure you have a good sound guy, lots of em will completely destroy your tone or cut you out of the mix. Hope that helped!

3. I'd just add a DI to the equation. Use the DI to send the bass to the PA and use the 2x10 as a monitor.

4. some1

some1

Apr 27, 2011
    So if I end up using a DI, getting a second cab would pretty much be unnecessary right? (I'm still not sure about the point of having a cab if using a DI to connect to the PA)

5. Jarnett

Jarnett

Dec 17, 2011
    Adrian Michigan