NNS for minor keys?

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by BasicJim, Dec 16, 2015.

1. BasicJim

BasicJim

Aug 11, 2015
    NW Ohio
    Is is possible to use NNS for a song in a minor key, like D harmonic minor?

I am new to bass and Nashville Numbering System. I am taking bass lessons and, in my old age, I am having trouble remembering the notes to the songs we are working on. When I saw a post about the Nashville Numbering System, I knew that would be awesome to help me remember. I also play in a church band that frequently capo's songs, so NNS seems like a good way to deal with key changes too.

I ask some questions in a different forum and nobody was very familiar with the Nashville Numbering System. A search here showed many bass players that swear by the NNS and think its great.

There is a SKA song that I am working on and it seems that it is in D harmonic minor key where as everything I have seen written about NNS only deals with majors.

Can I do a minor key with NNS and then instead of the W-W-H-W-W-W-H just remember W-H-W-W-H-W-W?

Thanks!!

2. I suppose Nashville numbers can be used with any scale/key. But, first understand Nashville numbers came into use by the 6 string guitar guys that strum the chords. Strumming and playing chord tone bass lines are two different things and we bass players must adapt NN to our way of playing. Granted most of what I use it with are major scale keys. Lets see how we could do this in a minor key...... I'm figuring this out as I type.

The chords in D Harmonic Minor are: Dmin Edim Faug Gmin Amaj Bbmaj C#dim
    Transposing that to Nashville #'s........1......2......3......4.......5......6........7
    Click here Chords In The Key Of D Harmonic Minor this site will also give the scale notes.