Noob bassist in NH

Discussion in 'Welcome Forum - New Member Intros' started by hrodbert696, Jan 19, 2010.

1. hrodbert696

hrodbert696 Moderator Staff Member

Hey Everyone,

I'm really thrilled, and intimidated, to find this forum! I hope I can visit often and maybe even find something helpful to say from time to time.

So the introduction -- I'm 39, married with kids, teach history in NH. I picked up a bass in high school, don't even remember what it was, and figured out enough about it to jam with some guys in my dorm and stuff. Trailed off in college and after I graduated, a friend asked to borrow it. I made the mistake of leaving the instrument and the amp in my car overnight to take it to him and the next morning the window was smashed in and it was gone.

I got married and we had a bunch of kids and I forgot about the bass, but I started realizing whenever I listened to music I was following the bass line and imagining how to play it. So finally, last fall (fast forward fifteen years), I got a used Ibanez off craigslist and a little practice amp, package deal with an electric guitar for my daughter who was starting lessons. Started fooling around with it and really started to love playing. Then this past Christmas my mom got me something to upgrade to, a 5 string neckthrough Washburn T25. Still just the dinky old practice amp though.

I have no illusions of making a career out of music at my age, I like my teaching job, I'd like to develop my skills, meet some other people who like to play, maybe have a local band that plays open mikes or local clubs from time to time but basically for fun, not for money.

OK, so here I am. I've got questions in three areas and I'm not sure if there's a particular forum to put them in individually, so I'll just put them here and if people want to reply or the mods want to slap my wrist and send me to the right forums or whatever I'll do that.

The three areas are on musicality, equipment, and life.