Noob question to buying a head and cab

Discussion in 'Amps and Cabs [BG]' started by A_Winters_Rose, Aug 1, 2005.

1. A_Winters_Rose

Jul 19, 2005
    Ok so I'm pretty new at the whole world of heads and cabs. I have been playing combo's for about a year now. (Thats how long I have been playing). Ok so I am looking at a head and cab but what is the deffence between 4 ohms and 8 ohms. and can I hook a 4ohms head to a 8 ohms cab? will I be lossing watts? thanks -AwR
  2. it depends on what type of head it is

most solid state amps will work 4 ohm and 8 ohm fine, if you find an amp you like, look it up on their site

for instance, the peavey firebass (now max 700)

700 watts (rms) at 2 ohms
    475 watts (rms) at 4 ohms
    275 watts (rms) at 8 ohms

so, if you used a 4 ohm cab it would be louder than its equivilant 8 ohm, etc, hope this helps in some sort of way
  3. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister

Apr 12, 2001
    Lacey, WA
    Welcome to TalkBass. Take a minute to fill out your profile if you would please.

There is an excellent source of information in a sticky at the top of this forum. It will answer all kinds of questions, and contains lots of suggestions and opinions from people who are using the gear. Here is a direct link to it: Amp/Cab Info.

As far as your questions. Amps produce more watts the lower the ohm's, or resistance. A cab driving a 4ohm load will generally be louder than the exact same cab driving an 8ohm load. Yes, you can hook an 8ohm cab to a 4ohm amp. The amp will not be as loud as advertised since it is not running a 4ohm load. So, yes you will be losing watts. A good example of this is the Ashdown MAG300H which is rated at 307 watts. To get the 307 watts, you need a 4ohm load. An 8ohm load will only pull 185 watts from the amp.