Not Playing the Root Note

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by PaulyJK, Nov 1, 2011.

1. Hi, First Post Newbie!

I've heard that when there are chord changes about 99% of the time the root is played. I think I remember learning that when chords are ascending or descending it's possible to play a note in between the two chords' roots. If I'm making sense can someone push me in the right direction. Thanks!

2. Art Araya

Art Araya

May 29, 2006
    Palm Coast, FL
    General Guidelines

- Root notes are your bread and butter.
    - You can add other chord tones now and then as well. The 5th and the 3rd are the most common. But on the first beat of the measure you normally want to stick with the root.
    - You can connect two chords by using approach tones or passing tones. These can be diatonic (scalar) or chromatic.

If you're a total newbie then several points in here will require further explanation and exploration.

3. Art Araya

Art Araya

May 29, 2006
    Palm Coast, FL
  4. DBCrocky

DBCrocky

Oct 18, 2011
    Cary, NC
    Playing the root note of the current chord is always safe. But you can play any note in the chord. The next most common is the fifth. Then either the maj 3rd or the min 3rd, depending on if the chord is major or minor.

Usually, you want to play your chord tone on the one. (Meaning, if your counting 1 and 2 and 3 and 4 and...). Then in between ones, you can do more interesting things, working your way back to a chord tone for the next one.

These are only rules of thumb, a starting point, but not absolute. For instance, a good trick for reggae is to be silent on the one.

5. Thanks for replying. I've got a general understanding of music theory. (I've played guitar for a few years, then decided to switch to bass a few months ago) I'm just pretty sure I heard that on the first beat of a new chord it's possible to not play the root note and get it to sound good. Thanks for any future replies.

6. Stick_Player