Not sure if this is possible....

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by McThud, Dec 17, 2015.

1. McThud

McThud Supporting Member

Jul 2, 2013
    Arlington, VA
    So, I'm sure someone has considered something similar to this before, but I thought I'd ask anyway. I'm not usually a fan of 'signature' instruments, but I had the chance to play a year-old Fender "Pino Palladino" precision at my local favorite independent music store earlier this week, and not surprisingly, loved it. Needless to say I don't have $3,800 (or whatever the price was) around to purchase it.
    IMG_3824.jpg
    I've never built a bass before, but I do all my own setups as I am a full time musician. Also, I've "converted" a p/j bass combo into a precision-only bass with a new body (drilled the bridge ground wire channel - what a hellish process! - did my own soldering/de-soldering, shielding - all the basics).

Finally, my question is, would it be possible to attempt to build something similar to that bass? I really don't care about the relic-ing - my favorite bit was the feel of the neck. It's a nice c-shape, but a bit slimmer than a vintage '62 neck, and the frets/fretboard are nicely made to feel worn-in but not abused.

I'm not sure what my budget would be as I didn't even know if something like that would be possible for an inexperienced guy like me. I mean, where would I find a neck close to those specs that feels broken in? (I've seen the prices for vintage earl-60s necks - way too rich for my account!).

So to all my more experienced TB folks, do you think this is something a newbie could tackle or am I just kidding myself? And if you think it's possible, where would you think I should start to plan something like this?

Jah Wobble Fan likes this.
  2. bholder

bholder Affable Sociopath Gold Supporting Member Supporting Member

Sep 2, 2001
    Vestal, NY
    Received a gift from Sire* (see sig)