Novice question re: bluegrass strings

Discussion in 'Bluegrass [DB]' started by Sven1, Feb 5, 2005.

1. Sven1

Feb 5, 2005
    I've been learning upright bass on a 3/4 50s Kay upright for several years (I'm a guitar/banjo/dobro player originally).

The bass was strung backwards for a lefty when I bought it. It also has the same strings on it (two are nylon, two are metal wound). They are beginning to fray and I figured it was time to replace them. I play bluegrass mostly, and wanted advice on what types/makers/guages of strings would be recomended (since it's not as cheap to experiment like with guitar strings).

Thanks in advance.

2. Francois Blais

Francois Blais Supporting Member

Dec 11, 1999
    Québec, Canada
    Just a quick question: did you search the forum archive with the word "bluegrass" and also looked a the newbie links post at the top of the forum?
  3. Bob Gollihur

Bob Gollihur

Mar 22, 2000
    New Joisey Shore
    Big Cheese Emeritus: Gollihur Music
    I like Pirastro Obligatos or Lenzner gut strings for bluegrass and similar genres, I have gut (all gut G/D, silver wrapped A/E) on my old Kay.