Ok which one?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by kazamamaster, Dec 21, 2005.

1. kazamamaster

Sep 15, 2005
    Richmond, VA
    I've been debating so hard lately. I'm currently playing an older Carvin LB76, (6string for those who don't know). I'm about to purchase my first real exotic bass, and I've been playing for 16 years. Outside of my bass, I have only found two other makers who make a 6 string other than Fodera that appeal to me. Those two being Smith and F-bass. So guys, which one is it? I play tons of jazz and contemporary gospel, and love that Smith sound, and also the F bass feel.....Most of you here are F players, so where can I get the most bang for the buck?
  2. Woodchuck

Apr 21, 2000
    Atlanta / Macon (sigh)
    Gallien Krueger for the last 12 years!
    Out of the 2, I'd get the Smitty. PERFECT for what you do. Overall, no matter what you decide, it's a win/win situation. Good luck.
  3. Hollow Man

Hollow Man Supporting Member

Apr 28, 2003
    Springfield, VA
    I'd say that of the two, Smiths definitely have the name recognition within your genre. I love their sound. Having said that (and I don't play gospel nor anything close to it, for whatever that's worth), the few F Basses I've touched have blown me away in feel and tone, so if I were ever in a position to choose, it would be the F Bass all the way, just because I've never been so impressed with every aspect of a single instrument.
  4. billbern

Sep 11, 2004
    Daytona Beach, Fl
    Endorsing: Inearz In-ear Monitors
    My only experience with an Fbass is playing the BNF-5 Fretless at bass central and it's a spectacular instrument. But I've been a Smith ower for 20 years. In that time my Smiths have always sounded great. Rock, Country, jazz, Worship, Studio always great. I would think that the Fbass would also stand the test of time, but saying that I KNOW the Smith would.

5. Baryonyx

Baryonyx Banned

Jul 11, 2005
    Marathon Man