Online Bass and/or Guitar Instruction

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by HubbardsFate, Dec 27, 2014.

1. HubbardsFate

HubbardsFate

Oct 18, 2006
    Hey Guys,

Long-time member, infrequent poster here, just looking for some advice RE: online instruction.

Here is my story in a nutshell: I recently turned 40, have been playing bass since I was 17 (but rarely in band/group situations...mostly an at home/hobby/bedroom bassist), and while I certainly feel that there are areas that I can improve my bass playing, I am also interested in learning guitar.

I want to be smarter starting on guitar than I was with bass. I am largely self-taught on bass, and although I think going this route may have had a couple of advantages, overall, I have to think that had I been super-serious about learning bass as a teen/young adult (e., sought some professional instruction), chances are I'd be ten times the player I am today. At 40 years old, I don't really have the "luxury of time" to noodle around and get incrementally better...well, actually, getting better at anything usually happens in increments...a more accurate way to say it is that I want the increments to happen faster than they would if I were to try and go the self-teaching route.

There are three specific online instruction sites that I am thinking of signing on with: TrueFire, JamPlay, and ArtistWorks. The first two seem to be great sites in that they offer a plethora of instructors and a plethora of styles. As far as ArtistWorks goes, I'd mainly be interested in signing up with Paul Gilbert for rock guitar lessons, being that rock is the genre that I am mostly interested in.

So, bottom line: I'm wondering if anyone here has experience in taking instruction (bass, guitar, or both) on any of these sites, and is it worth the time and money? When I look at the wealth of material and quality/pedigree of the instructors on all three sites, it pretty much seems like a no-brainer.