1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Only playing when kick drum does??

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Redneck5, Jul 11, 2012.

1. Redneck5

Redneck5

Jun 18, 2012
    I started playing bass recently in my church, on Wednesday nights. We have a really really good bassist who plays on Sunday, who is teaching me some now. So far i only play mostly roots to a ll the songs we play(Hillsong, Jesus Culture, Chris Tomlin) But my question is; my teacher says i should only play when the kick drum plays??? He says it will make us a tighter rhythm section Any thoughts on this??

P.S. He is going to be teaching me out of Mel Bays Electric Bass method book. any thoughts on that?

Sorry if it's kind of long

2. dbd1963

dbd1963

May 18, 2010
    Northern Virginia
    He's probably trying to get you to hear and feel the kick, because in most styles of music, the bass and the drums are working together. Eventually, you won't be playing only with the kick, but the kick will still be important to you.

3. Stick_Player

Stick_Player Banned

Nov 13, 2009
    Somewhere on the Alaska Panhandle (Juneau)
    Endorser: Plants vs. Zombies Pea Shooters
    How are you to know when the drummer will play his kick? :D

Actually, the guy is on track, but this does not occur 100% of the time. And, is especially dependent on the style of music. He was most likely trying to make a point.

Having said that, the kick and bass should work together, for best results. Or, at least compliment each other.

4. We are told to lock in with the kick drum. Your friend is telling you good stuff, listen to him. Sounds like you are in good hands.

You and the drum are the rhythm section and yes you two should lock in with each other. Let him show you what "lock in" sounds like.

Have fun.

5. LayDownABoogie

LayDownABoogie

Jan 3, 2012