1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Opinions on foot shims?

Discussion in 'Setup & Repair [DB]' started by Jeff Bonny, Jul 31, 2007.

1. Jeff Bonny

Jeff Bonny Supporting Member

Nov 20, 2000
    Vancouver, BC
    I've been using a bridge for several years that has built in piezos for each string and amplified it sounds nice.

decopiezobridge.

Since starting to mess around with miking the bass live though I've started to become annoyed with the restricted acoustic sound that comes from the thickness of it and gone back to the original thinner bridge and there is a remarkable difference.

deco1stbridge002.

One of the reasons the thick multi-piezo came into being was that the thinner one was too low and to correct this now I've shimmed the feet with some maple veneer (currently 3 pieces). I like this bridge and would like to avoid cutting a new one if it can be made to work. Are there reasons I might not have thought of that shimming might not be as good as just cutting a new bridge? Worth the effort to trim the shims to an exact footprint of the foot? I have a Realist coming so it seems that in effect I'll be shimming anyway. Anyone foresee any problems with the shim/Realist combination?
    Thanks.

2. Matthew Tucker

Matthew Tucker Commercial User

Aug 21, 2002
    Sydney, Australia
    Owner: Bresque Basses, Sydney Basses and Cellos
    "I like this bridge and would like to avoid cutting a new one if it can be made to work."

Why? does it not work now with the shims? You're not going to damage it by adding shims so I'd say, go for it. Nothing to lose. You can always cut them off again, or trim the crown, if you don't like it. And of course trim them to shape ... make it look nice.