PA system help

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by bluemonk, Nov 28, 2004.

1. bluemonk

Dec 17, 2002
    I've searched and read the stickies, but still have a basic PA question: I need to buy/rent a PA system for a rock band. I'm just starting to learn about these systems. What I'm leaning toward is a smallish system (around 4600 portable system) for vocals and maybe keys and then use the amps for guitar sound. I'd prefer, though, to get the guitar in the system, too. We will be playing small to medium venues, like small bars, coffeehouses, large parties. The music is 60's rock, nothing that requires huge sound. I've come to this conclusion because it seems like getting the bass in the main system requires a lot more $$. What do you think? :help:
  2. IvanMike

IvanMike Player Characters fear me... Staff Member Supporting Member

Nov 10, 2002
    Middletown CT, USA
    i have absolutley no clue what you mean by 4600 portable system.

a powered mixer is ok for just vocals and mayeb some keys. Putting a little guitar in the mix is generally ok with those as well. If i was going to put a pa setup together i would get the best mains speakers i could with stands) and a powered mixer if i needed to save money. 1x12 mans with horns are ok for a lot of stuff, 1x15 mains with horns work better for larger gigs or where you need pa support with bass. Of course, you still have to think about monitors, etc. if you had the money for monitors as well you might ant to think about getting a powered mixer will let you use its internal poweramp to run the monitors, and that will let you run a line to an external, more powerful poweramp to run the mains. then i would buy a couple of small monitors.

not that you need anything like this, but let me put things in perspective for you. My guitar player does sound for other bands as well, and has a decent income. This is what we bring to gigs;

2 1x15 main speakers (some kind of EV)
    2 speaker stands fo rthe mains