1. Please take 30 seconds to register your free account to remove most ads, post topics, make friends, earn reward points at our store, and more!  

Paranoid?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Anesthesia, Jun 14, 2007.

1. Ok i have been reading some threads on here abput hanging basses and treatment of instruments etc etc.

one thing i have noticed is that there are alot of people who are so paranoid about even letting dust fall on their instrument it must remove the fun of playing it.

my bass isnt the highest of quality its not vintage or custom made but i stil respect it thouroughly as i am an apprentice who cant afford custom made or vintage.

i have dropped/knocked over/kicked over my bass you name it its probably happened. 90% of the time it survives with only the most minor cosmetic "damage" and although i dont like it happening i get over it pretty damn quick.

i suppose my point is... get over your obsession with the change in climate in your living room may make the wood swell just a fraction of a millimetre play the damn thing let it wear look after it but dont treat it like a god damn faberge egg.

BASSES ARE MEANT TO BE ENJOYED THAT MEANS PLAY IT, IF IT GETS DAMAGED SUCK IT UP!!!

rant over

2. darkside 88

darkside 88

Feb 23, 2005
    Bay Area, CA
    You wouldn't be saying that if you just dropped a grand on a fine tuned music machine, and I imagine you'd be a hell of a lot more careful.

3. lefty007

lefty007

Jan 19, 2004
    Miami, FL
    That's right, go tell them, Anastasia.

4. While I don't own a custom/boutique bass, I've always been in the "just play it" crowd. I figure that dings and scratches are mojo...especially if I'm the one who put em there! My '51 Reissue P just got a nice cymbal ding cause I accidentally ran it into my son's drum set :( It's cool though - like I said - mojo baby!

5. IngerAlb

IngerAlb

May 11, 2007